ParanoidAndroid AOSPA 3.+ JB 4.2.2 for Nook Tablet (SDC Boot) (02/26)

Paranoid Android 3+ Review by datmexicankidd

  • This is a test build of ParanoidAndroid AOSPA 3.+ for Nook Tablet.
  • I just compiled it from source for fun.
  • The main thing you’ll notice is the addition of Pie, a customizable softkeys/statusbar.
  • You’ll unlock “Developer options” by tapping “Build number” 7 times.
  • There is no “Performance” settings, so you’ll have to use set CPU app or init script for CPU settings.
  • The default CPU settings is 1008MHz max and Interactive governor.
  • What I added are CMFileManager, Sound Recorder, and Terminal Emulator.
  • AOSP is bare bone Android.
  • If you are used to CM settings, you’ll find there are missing settings here.
  • What’s not working? You tell me. PA sources are still rolling out.
  • Serial Number is unknown, I can’t resolve it.
  • What work? Wifi, Audio, Mic, Video playback
  • If you’d like to help the Paranoid Android team, you can buy their Paranoid Android Preferences app on Google Play.
  • Use at your own risk.
  • Clear Data/Factory reset and Dalvik Cache before flashing if you are on CM build.
  • Booting can take several minutes so be patient.
  • Questions and Answers
  • TO DO LIST:
  • Lots of things
  • Can’t take screenshot in newer build due to SurfaceFlinger.
  • No battery percentage implemented yet.
  • CHANGELOGS:
  • ParanoidAndroid source
  • ParanoidAndroid on G+
  • 02/23 – Repo synced, kernel updated to 3.0.66, compiled with GCC 4.7, look at the PA source history for further changes.
  • 02/26 – Repo synced, 3.10, removed Trebuchet due to some issues, fixed rotation problem, fixed screenshot problem.

WARNING: DON’T INSTALL ROM IF YOU DON’T KNOW THE RISKS
YOU NEED TO CLEAR DATA/FACTORY RESET IN RECOVERY IF YOUR ARE ON PREVIOUS CM7/9/10

About iamafanof
Somewhere in reality. I like free gadget. I need new nibs.

36 Responses to ParanoidAndroid AOSPA 3.+ JB 4.2.2 for Nook Tablet (SDC Boot) (02/26)

  1. Lisa says:

    Succulent,

    If you are still reading these…

    i’ve been using Paranoid Android 3.0 (sd card version) for a long time. I am attempting to get the data (movies, etc) off the sd card. I realize that this ROM uses MTP rather than USB transfer. I saw in one of your earlier replies how to edit the build.prop file to permit usb transfer and i have tried that. I also downloaded the XP MTP Transfer Kit to enable MTP transfer on my computer. I am still having problems accessing the sd card. Using either method, when I plug in the Nook Tablet to my computer, I can not get the computer to see the contents of the SD card. It DOES see the NOOK TABLET drive. I get a message to insert or load the sd card to see it (obviously it is already installed). I have checked Android Debugging and Allow Mock Locations in Development Options. I can’t figure out why I still can’t see and transfer the sd card contents.

    I read in one of the earlier posts that perhaps I needed to be using a different version of CWM in order to have the correct sd card partition mounted to be seen by the computer? This is where I am getting confused, as I believe I am using the latest version of CWM as referred to in that post. When I am in CWM, I can only see “sd card”, not “sd card 1”, which is where my content resides. Is this perhaps where my problem is? What version of CWM would enable me to mount the sd card 1 partition, if that is the problem. (I know my understanding of mounting partitions in CWM may be faulty, so forgive if I am on the wrong track here.)

    Forgive me again if this classifies as a stupid question. I have spent hours doing research on this problem, but just can’t seem to solve it. You will see that I posted on XDA developers in the Q and A section months ago regarding this problem. I have been working on it when I am able, since then.

    I am ready to move on to a new ROM and want to get the contents off this sd card to reuse it. I can not afford a new sd card, and really want the things I have downloaded to date. I am not familiar with ADB (using terminal emulator) to push or pull things. I have started reading about it, but I get confused easily because I am on chemotherapy right now. I HAVE been trying!

    If there are any hints you could give me to help solve my problem (I confess I may be missing something really obvious here), I would be extremely grateful. If you think I am just stupid or lazy, then I would prefer you don’t reply at all rather than reply with something nasty, ok?

    Thank you so much for your time.

    • iamafanof says:

      Hey, this is a very old build so I might forget certain things.
      When you plugged in your device to your computer and it showed up Nook Tablet device, does it show “internal storage” and “SDCard”?
      If it shows “SDCard”, does it only show the boot files? If that is the case, you need to edit your vold.fstab.

      First, check /system/etc/vold.fstab
      dev_mount sdcard /storage/sdcard1 auto /devices/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.0/mmc_host/mmc1
      If it says “auto”, change it to “4”, save, and reboot.

      vold.fstab no longer exist in cm10.2.

      • Lisa says:

        Hi,:-)

        Thanks a for your reply!

        You are correct that there is a vold.fstab file where you indicated, with “auto” rather than “4” where you indicated.
        However, a clearer explanation, as I DO NOT see the boot partition of the SD card on the computer…I get bubkis….
        When I initially plugged in the NT to the Computer, in Windows Explorer I could see two separate drives. (Note however that I received a notice to search for drivers and that the new hardware may not have been installed properly, and may not work.) The first drive identified as D: Nook Tablet and I could get into that and see the files within. I understand that this is the internal drive of the Nook Tablet itself. I assume that means the USB drivers are on the computer and working as the NT internal uses those, correct? (Note that in USBDview the Nook Tablet is recognized and connected as a Linux Gadget….is that strange?) And yes, I had Android Debugging and Allow Mock locations checked in development options, and turned on USB Mass Storage on the tablet…..
        The second drive was only identified as Drive E: When I clicked on that it said “insert card”. So, after much reading, I realized that the PA ROM used MTP protocol and perhaps that was my problem. I did not think my XP computer could perform MTP transfer at first, so I edited build.prop to read as follows to enable USB Mass Storage Transfer.
        persist.sys.USB.config mass_storage,adb

        However, this did not help. There was a bubble indicating a USB Mass storage device was detected, but I was still locked out of drive E: (the SD Card). (Confirmed Debugging and mock locations checked and turned on USB Mass storage.) I still received the message about needing drivers and the hardware not being installed correctly. ( I was able to access the internal NOOK Tablet drive as previously.)
        Next I downloaded and installed the XP MTP Transfer Kit, which I assume included the correct drivers for MTP transfer. I reverted to the original build.prop file. I could see that the MTP drivers were trying to load upon connecting the NT to the computer because after the Nook Tablet Hardware bubble appeared, another bubble for an MTP Device appeared. However, I received the same notice to search for drivers and of a failed hardware install. I was prompted to turn on USB debugging on the device, which I did, and could still see the Nook Tablet Internal drive contents on my computer.
        Looking inside of USBDview, I see that the Nook Tablet Drive (drive D:) was still installed as a Linux Gadget. I could see an entry for an MTP device, but it was not ever connected.

        Next, I edited the vold.fstab folder as you indicated. I rebooted and tried to connect to the computer using both versions of the build.prop file. Both times this resulted in both drives appearing in Windows Explorer, but Drive E: was not labelled as “Nook Tablet” and I could not get into it. I received the insert card” prompt. The D: drive (SD Card also remained inaccessible “insert card”). Also, the Screen on the Nook froze on the TURN OFF USB page. Furthermore, when looking in Hardware under Device Manager, exclamation points appeared next to the previously named Nook Tablet install and another USB port named as a USB Mass Storage Device. Upon further inspection, the Nook Tablet Drivers are gone (yikes) and I got a code 1 on the drivers for the USB Mass Storage Device.
        So, I’m just where I started. My problem is the entire SD Card is not readable by the computer no matter what I have tried.(Note that Superuser is enabled on the device while running the SD ROM and RW permissions have been granted via ES File Explorer tools, if that matters).
        So, upon going back to return the vold.fstab folder to its original version, I happened to notice the Remote Manage Function in that App. I figured out how to use it and wonder of wonders, I am now able to transfer the files to my computer over my WiFi network. It is slow going, but it’s working!
        I was very careful with my edits, so I cant for the life of me figure out WHAT happened! But, providence intervened! If you now have any idea why I had the original problem, it would be great to know, that is if it is an obvious problem to you now with a short answer. (Like if my drivers were corrupted or something, that would be good to know so I don’t go back to the same source). Otherwise, I’ll just transfer the files wirelessly.
        I realize now I will have to reload some drivers. I’m hoping I can get them back and once I get a new ROM everything will work with the MTP kit I installed. Transferring over WiFi or Drop box is slow. I realize that the PA 3.0 was just a quick build, but I thought for sure other people had been using it and might have encountered the same problem I was initially having. I thought it was in the code. Maybe I have a poltergeist in my computer.
        This was really a great ROM for me, as you may have surmised since I used it for so long. My needs are simple. However, lately it has been rebooting itself at inopportune moments so time to change (I hope my SD card isn’t screwed up).
        So, thank you SO much for the time you took to reply! I really appreciate it. I would love to dive in and learn more but my brain just isn’t cooperating these days. I am however trying to keep as current as possible..

        Forever a noob
        😦

        lisa

        • iamafanof says:

          Sorry Lisa but wall of text does not help.

          Here is the thing, you can only see one SDCard partition on your computer. Boot partition is p1 (set to auto in vold.fstab) and SDCard partition is p4 (set to 4 in vold.fstab). Yes, I can make both SDCard partitions to show on your computer as I did for the Nook HD+, but it can give errors for internal ROM, as it does not use p4.

          Please stop using the old PA ROM and use the new CM ROM.

          • Lisa says:

            I already found out that only the first partition can be seen by doing more reading. I thought I made it clear in my first inquiry that it was the fourth partition I was trying to access. I was simply correcting your inaccurate assumption that there was a different problem, and detailing the steps I had taken following your instructions as those instructions still seemed pertinent to the actual problem. Mea Culpa, usually that is what people want to know when helping someone troubleshoot. I never ASKED you to rewrite the ROM. Had you advised me this was a problem inherent with the ROM, I would not have expounded further.

            Disregard my post on your other page. I’d rather go without assistance than continue to be subjected to your condescending attitude. I’m certain you don’t talk to people like that in real life. If you do, lots o luck with your future.

  2. postulio says:

    Great port, thank you very much.

    One tiny request/question: Is it possible to change the color of the text in the status bar like the time and battery? Also change the colors of the navigation buttons in the bottom would be awesome (like how you can do it in Xylon Acclaim 2.1.1 port).

    maybe there is an app that can do this?

    would be great to modify the location of the navigation buttons, as well as add new ones (like search and menu)

    Comments/requests aside, this ROM works better than all other 4.2 I’ve tried on the NT. it is fastest and everything works flawlessly. If you do nothing else I will still use it happily and be grateful.

    Thanks again.

  3. thcbytes says:

    I really like your ROM. Graphics are clear and options are endless. Thanks!

    One problem though..

    With the newest CWM 6.X and TWRP I am unable to make a backup of this ROM. It is interrupted and an error message is displayed. Others have described the same problem.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=38472833&postcount=13

    Any solution?

  4. Kizzy Hyman says:

    Is there a way to fix the rotation bug. If thats fixed then I willlove this Rom 🙂

  5. murzik11 says:

    I’ve been using it for about a day at home and it works great so far. I am able to stream youtube directly to my smart tv and hbo go works great on the tablet. havent tried netflix yet. play store works too, loving jelly bean so far.

    however, the rotation bug (it shows deformed graphics for a second, then rotates the screen) is really annoying. it kinda kills the fluidness of the OS for me. I really wish you could fix the screen orientation switching bug.

    Is there a chance you could look into it?

  6. digixmax says:

    I got “System UI has stopped” message-loop whenever I want to go from TabletUI to a non-TabletUI.

    • iamafanof says:

      Clean installing. Get used to it because I don’t get any SystemUI crashes transitioning from Stock UI to Tablet UI, forth and back.

      • digixmax says:

        I am fairly certain I did a clean install, but I’ll redo it when I have some time.

      • digixmax says:

        I did a clean install of 02/26, still have the problem of system-UI crash going from Tablet-UI to Phablet-UI (going between Stock-UI and Tablet-UI or Phablet-UI works fine).

        Also, automatic backup/restore selection at first-time initialization doesn’t stick (hence no auto-restoring of previously downloaded apps).

  7. Trism says:

    Does anyone know if this will work on an 8GB Nook Tablet?

  8. Elvis says:

    I’ve gotten used to the new rom and used tb to restore app data from the old backups. The PIE is pretty good and no major bugs. PA rocks!
    The only bug(minor) now is that whenever the screen rotates, it flashes black and does the rotate animation again(4-5 sec).
    Thnx for the ROM 🙂

  9. digixmax says:

    I tried out the 02/23 build on SD, one little quirk I found is disabling auto-rotation only affects the home-screen and not the lock-screen.

  10. Elvis says:

    Hi, I was on sgt7 cm10 version with cwm 6.0.1.9. I backed up in cwm and wiped and installed pa 3.0 android 4.2.2. Now the rom works but I need to go back. I booted into recovery and tried to restore the backup but it says md5 mismatch. (it was in differential format) I could not even restore an old backup which has worked before.
    Please help 😥

    • iamafanof says:

      Well, flash the old cwm 6.0.1.9 recovery and restore your backup. It’s not that hard to solve unless your backup really does have mismatch checksum. Get a checksum app to check your backup on the computer.

  11. Adam Solomon says:

    I know I must be missing something obvious, but on prior Nook ROMS when I had the Nook plugged into my Mac via USB there was an option in the status area to mount the internal and SD storage on the mac to load files on there, etc. I don’t see that option here. Can someone please tell me where to look for that? Thanks.

  12. William Rogers says:

    ROM is running great. The only issue that i have found is that when tring to make a backup in cwm 6.0.28 i get an error when trying to backup boot IMG. I cannot create back up. Any ideas?

  13. sdelgran says:

    I like it. Works well actually. The keyboard apparently does not swype but a fix is published (I can link to it if you like). Thanks for the build!

  14. Timmytim says:

    Hey there, i cannot find your PA3 source on github. Is it public? I’d like to build it from source to make a ROM or can I just use yours as a base? Just wanted your permission 🙂

  15. Tim says:

    Further to the preceding. I have a 16 gb NT, running CWM 5.5.0.4 or 6.x.x.x. Looks like I need to rebuild everything.

  16. Tim says:

    I installed it with the 4.2.1 (12012) JB gapps. There was no Playstore, and now I cannot restore my previous backups. In every backup there is an error when restoring system. These were good backups prior to installing ‘paranoid’. Any suggestions?

    • iamafanof says:

      I haven’t install 4.2.1 GAPPS on ParanoidAndroid AOSPA 3.+ JB 4.2.2. We might need a new GAPPS for 4.2.2 if the old one doesn’t work. I am busy with getting new rom running ATM.

      • Kizzy Hyman says:

        Mines work on first try. But I tested if more after another reflash and Indeed it did not show up. In CWM, I toggled the signature check and enabled it and Gapps flashed on first try after. 🙂

      • Onageric says:

        I have loaded and run without any problem the 201212-signed, pa-gapps-full 4.2 (paranoid android gapps), and 20130215-signed gapps with this build. I did clear both caches before running them. Have you tried a wipe data/factory reset?

  17. billy8362 says:

    Download will not start.

  18. Kizzy Hyman says:

    Can there be support for Overclock to 1.2?

  19. Cyclone42 says:

    The nice thing about the Nook Tablets is the ability to boot from an SD card, allowing you to test a ‘ROM’ without modifying your tablet at all. Nevertheless, I have no idea what to do with the ‘sdc’ file provided here. Would you be willing to provide a single image file sized to a 2GB SD card, that a person could just write with imagewriter and go?

Leave a comment