CM11.0 KitKat (Android 4.4.2) for Nook Color (25APR2014)

nook-color

The Nookie Developers have done a fantastic job keeping this device up to date with current android. For most devices as old as the Nook Color, their life support is very short because developers like to move on to the next device. Nook Color is special because it is one of the first cheap unlocked tablets. It is great that this tablet lasted this long.

If you do not like or do not know how to compile your own cm-11.0 for the Nook Color, I will provide the one I had compiled. All credits goes to the Nookie Developers. I did not add anything but compile cm-11.0 from the provided sources.

Not everyone is capable of compiling Cyanogenmod for his or her device. I did not always compile my own ROM. Back when Nook Color was release, I was using someone else’s CM7 ROM until I had learned to compile my own ROM. It takes me a lot of time to learn how to compile Android and understanding all the different errors that associated with compiling Android. I have seen many different errors over the years.  It is one of the painful things about compiling android. I know how to fix the errors, but people new to compiling Android might not. I do not discourage people from compiling their own ROM, but I understand that not everyone is capable of compiling Android. My compiled ROM is not always the best but I try to make it as best as I can.

  • Changelogs and sources:
  • Credits: NookieDevs, fattire, hashcode, dalingrin
  • https://github.com/NookieDevs
  • https://github.com/TheMuppets/proprietary_vendor_bn
  • https://github.com/sgt7
  • http://review.cyanogenmod.org/#/q/status:merged,n,z
  • Official CyanogenMod build for encore
  • CyanogenMod source
  • CyanogenMod on G+
  • 12/22 – Initial build, repo synced
  • 01/03 – Repo synced, option for double-tap status bar to sleep, for more look at review.cyanogenmod.org.
  • 01/16 – Repo synced, change boot animation size, set zram to 128MB, switch to WPA_SUPPLICANT_TI to fix unknown MAC Address, battery status text option for status bar. I tested ART out on the Nook Color and it work. You do not need to disable boot animation on this build. Enabling ART will make your NC takes forever to boot into Android. The optimizing process takes forever as well if you have GAPPS installed. I did not notice any speed boost with ART.
  • 01/29 – Repo synced, enabled KSM by default,  revert boot to landscape, new Cyanoboot menu look, some clean ups.
  • 01/31 – Repo synced, fixed reboot to recovery, added Advanced storage settings (Settings>Storage>Menu, This allows you to swap storage paths).
  • 04/25 – Repo synced

  • Installation:
  • (You should know the risks of installing ROM and will bear responsibility if anything bad were to happen to your device.)
  • flash_recovery_encore_TWRP_2.6.3.0_internal.zip (contain uRecImg & uRecRam)
  • flash_recovery_encore_CWM_6.0.4.5_internal.zip (contain uRecImg & uRecRam)
  • You need to have the latest CWM/TWRP installed and install cm-11.0 from it or else you will get an error.
  • Copy uRecImg, uRecRam, the latest cm-11.0 ROM, & the latest KitKat gapps to your SDCard.
  • You can change uRecRam to uAltRam and uRecImg to uAltImg for alternate boot, this way you can have both CWM and TWRP recovery.
  • For rooted device (I don’t have a rooted device so I don’t remember if there is a EMMC or a Media folder)
  • Open up terminal and type (case-sensitive, please double-check):
  • > su
  • > busybox mkdir /emmc/boot
  • > busybox mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /emmc/boot
  • > cp /sdcard/uRecImg /emmc/boot/uRecImg
  • > cp /sdcard/uRecRam /emmc/boot/uRecRam
  • > busybox umount /emmc/boot
  • > reboot recovery
  • For CM device
  • Open up terminal and type (case-sensitive, please double-check):
  • > su
  • > busybox mkdir /storage/sdcard0/boot
  • > busybox mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /storage/sdcard0/boot
  • > cp /storage/sdcard1/uRecImg /storage/sdcard0/boot/uRecImg
  • > cp /storage/sdcard1/uRecRam /storage/sdcard0/boot/uRecRam
  • > busybox umount /storage/sdcard0/boot
  • > reboot recovery
  • This should boot you into CWM 6.0.4.5.
  • Install the latest cm-11.0 ROM and KitKat gapps from /storage/sdcard1.
  • If you have a large SDCard, it might take a few seconds to load all the content on the card.
  • The installation will take a couple of minutes and you might not see the loading bar loading.
  • Wipe Cache/Fix Permission in recovery.
  • Select factory reset in CWM.
  • Booting into cm-11.0 will take several minutes so be patient.
  • Working:
  • Bluetooth (Required a reboot)
  • Wi-fi
  • Storage/external sdcard
  • MP4 video playback/Youtube video playback
  • APK Removed:
  • CMUpdater
  • CMAccount
  • CMFota
  • CMWallpapers
  • DSPManager
  • VoicePlus
  • VoiceDialer
  • Questions and Answers
  • Please Read Q&A before asking questions (some questions may not apply)
  • Where is the reboot to recovery option?
  • Setting/Developer options/enable Advanced reboot
  • So where is this Developer options?
  • Setting/About tablet/Click Build number several times to unlock
  • What else can I change in Developer option?
  • You can change all the animation scale to 0.5.

About iamafanof
Somewhere in reality. I like free gadget. I need new nibs.

42 Responses to CM11.0 KitKat (Android 4.4.2) for Nook Color (25APR2014)

  1. Kevin T. says:

    Any chance of getting a 4.4.4 build for the old NC? Your 4.4.4 build for the NT is by far the best thing I’ve run on mine (great battery as long as you toggle WiFi as needed, smooth & fast). I tried this 4.4.2 on my daughter’s NC, but it just seemed sluggish and not very responsive (which is how 4.4.2 acted on my NT also — DRASTIC improvement on the NT between 4.4.2 and 4.4.4). Thanks for your work!

  2. Ashir says:

    Hi iamafanof, I install this ROM 4 months back and worked fine. Recently I sold my old NC on eBay and now the new owner is complaning about error 960, browser crashes, unable to install anything. How can I fi those errors???

  3. Bottastic88 says:

    i wanna run this off an sd card, but there are no instructions on how to do it….pls tell me how

  4. Bert Slater says:

    Encore 11 and gapps for sd card, how do you mount on sd card? I have a copy of imagewriter. sorry for the stupid question, thx

  5. Jonathan says:

    How can I update/install cwm 6.0.4.5 to my sd card. I am using sd card to run cm 10.1 and would like to upgrade.

  6. Ashir says:

    iamafanof I’m trapped in a “Unfortunately, Setup Wizard has stopped” loop. How I can fix it???

    I flash the new CWM, reboot, did a factory reset, clear cache, clear dalvik, flash CM11, flash GAPPS, reboot, stuck in loop…

    • iamafanof says:

      Make sure you are using the micro GAPPS. NC have limited space for the system partition. Installing large GAPPS file will result in incomplete installation of the GAPPS and will result in you getting errors.

      If you are getting the wizard setup error, try reinstalling the rom and wipe data. Do not install GAPPS yet. Boot into CM11 then reboot into recovery and then install GAPPS.

      • Ashir says:

        Hi, thank you for answering so fast.

        I’m using a reformatted partition. 1.96 GB for apps, the rest for the user data.

        I try your suggestion: I wipe data, reinstall CM11, reboot, still wizard error…

      • Ashir says:

        Forget it. I did as you said: first reinstall CM11, then wipe, reboot, and then install micro GAPPS. It works.

        Looks slightly faster than CM10. Need to test it more…

        Thanks!

  7. Mike says:

    So I updated your initial version with the nightly from 31. Jan. And tried art again. This time I ended up in a bootloop. After some reading through xda forums, the boot animation takes too much ram so that art cannot be set up or installed or whatever it’s exactly called. But you can add a line to build.prop to prevent this. I tried and art now works. The line you have to add at the end of build.prop is
    debug.sf.nobootanimation=1

    Hope this helps others.

  8. Looking forward to cm11 nightlies! Thanks for this contribution!

  9. Very nice rom. Runs very nicely on my 3yr NC. I have run in to one problem…..I have found, over the past, that themes don’t like 160 lcd settings. I have tried changing to 230 using Rom Toolbox, but the changes won’t stick. Any suggestions?

  10. Ken says:

    Many thanks. I just installed. Your instructions worked perfectly.

  11. Y.Nessmi says:

    Just found this little gem while doing my weekly search for cm 11. I’ve been waiting for this. downloading now… thank you!

  12. shawn says:

    Quick question, I’ve got twrp 2.3.1 running, it’s the most recent available for the encore. Will this flash CM11?

    I’ll have an answer for myself in about 5 minutes, and I assume it will probably not be a good one, but just wanted to check on the off chance you can save me from myself.

  13. RyanL says:

    So I decided to try this out a couple of days ago, but ran into a bit of a pickle. Was running CM10.2 and installed CMW 6.0.4.5 as per instructions. I then installed CM11 from CWM recovery options. Everything went as planned. Rebooted, then tried to install gapps and that’s where everything went South. It seemed to install fine, but went into a Cyanogen boot loop (kept on showing the Cyanogen boot loop). Booted into recovery and tried to wipe and install CM11 again (seemed to work, no errors), but now I’m stuck in a CWM recovery boot loop (keeps on booting into recovery). Trying to flash older CWM or backups via CWM results in status 0 or 7 errors which leads me to think that CWM is totally borked somehow. Anyone have a zip installer for CWM 6.0.4.5 so I can re-install it from recovery or have any other ideas? TIA.

  14. AP says:

    This is probably a dumb question, but where does one get the image for latest version of CWM? No nook color listed here: http://www.clockworkmod.com/rommanager

    Given that you have mentioned “You need to have the latest CWM/TWRP installed and install cm-11.0 from it or else you will get an error.”, don’t really want to try out with the version 3.x I have.

    Cheers,
    AP

  15. Lamar Caylor says:

    I can’t believe how fast, smooth and how sensitive the touch is with your CM11 build. I have used CM7, CM9, CM10.1 and 10.2. This is the best one yet.

    I really don’t see how the folks at XDA can improve on this. Thanks for all your work.

  16. philosoweed says:

    I really appreciate this. I cannot say this enough. The folks over at XDA seem to have locked non devs out of this little gem. I understand they want people to learn and such but some people like myself just dont have the resources. Thanks again. 🙂

  17. philosoweed says:

    is this for the nook hd or nook color? file has HD in title.

    • iamafanof says:

      _HD at the end is my signature. Read the title.

      • philosoweed says:

        Sorry for my ignorance. I do thank you for taking the time to compile and post your work as I am limited on internet data and couldnt try it myself. Quick questions, after flashing your recovery, I am unable to flash pre CM11 builds (results in getprop errors “encore”) is this common? When flashing CM11 JAN2014 I get a E: Can’t open /storage/sdcard1/nook/cm_encore_11.0_03JAN2014_HD.zip (bad) error. I know you must have other things in life going on and if you can’t help right now it is understood. Thank you again for your work.

        • iamafanof says:

          Yes, it’s a common error when flashing pre-cm-11.0 build with newer CWM. CWM has an extra prop check. I’ll will look around to see if there is a resolution and make a new recovery.
          Else, if you still have your old recovery, you can manually install the recovery in the terminal.
          Open up terminal and type (case-sensitive, please double-check):

          su
          busybox mkdir /storage/sdcard0/boot
          busybox mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /storage/sdcard0/boot
          cp /storage/sdcard1/uRecImg /storage/sdcard0/boot/uRecImg
          cp /storage/sdcard1/uRecRam /storage/sdcard0/boot/uRecRam
          busybox umount /storage/sdcard0/boot
          reboot recovery

  18. Mike says:

    I just tried to use art instead of dalvik runtime, but the setting doesn’t stick. I reboot like required and when I check developer settings it is back to dalvik. Any ideas?

    • iamafanof says:

      I’ve read on XDA that NC doesn’t have sufficient memory for ART.
      If people have lag, try fixing permission in recovery and clear cache.

      • RyanL says:

        It’s rather ironic that the NC doesn’t have enough RAM for ART; I thought that ART was supposed to help out on devices with limited RAM?

      • Mike says:

        Thanks for the answer. I found on XDA that xposed framework doesn’t support ART. As soon as I uninstalled xposed, it works. I just don’t know why android reverted back to Dalvik instead of xposed crashing.

  19. mike says:

    I had some problems installing initially as I had CM10 installed before and the rom installed an update to internal memory. But once I found out, I made it and my nook color now runs much better than before. For reading and browsing the internet, it got quite good. I’m using Opera mini as it performs much better than chrome on my NC. The only gripe I still have is the touch sensitivity. It just never seemed as good as the stock rom, no matter which version CM I used.

  20. Rabid Flasher says:

    Thanks for the awesome guide and the links to the CM11 files! I also wanted to let you know that people with rooted devices, that have a bootloader, can just copy the recovery files to their SD card and enter the boot menu then choose boot recovery from SD if they’re kind of inept when it comes to terminals.

  21. scott says:

    looks like the rom file is for the nook hd, not the nc, (i keep getting status 7)

    • scott says:

      Nevermind…I’m just dumb… Trying to flash from wrong recovery ended in Status 7 error. flashed the correct recovery and no problems now! Thanks for the fantastic work!

  22. Wayne S. says:

    Thanks so much for some awesome developing. However, my NC has an unknown MAC address after the install. Is there a fix for this or is there a way to find the MAC using another route?

Leave a Reply

