New Toys – Android Mini UG007 w/ Mele F10 Air Mouse

IMG_0003

  • Initial impression?
  • Wifi signal is weak (around 1-2 bars 12/54mbps) within 30 feet of router.
  • I’ve seen artifacts popping up in games and settings.
  • Device doesn’t get hot, a little warm in my 30 minutes test.
  • Mele mouse need some adjustments.
  • It’s running on RK30 Android 4.1.1 SDK 1.00.1015.
  • It’s not bad so far, it need to be updated and it have a lot of potentials.
  • Internals:
  • Rockchip RK3066 ANCT711 1236 – Cortex A9 Dual Core Arm Processor
  • Veritech Spectek PE918-15E F 1242 – DDR3 1333 1GB Memory
  • Mediatek MT59315A 1231BMAH BTPKB279 – WiFi
  • Mediatek MT6622N 1228-BDJL B11AQ07 – Bluetooth
  • Micron MT 29F64G08CBABA – 8GB NAND Flash Memory


About iamafanof
Somewhere in reality. I like free gadget. I need new nibs.

17 Responses to New Toys – Android Mini UG007 w/ Mele F10 Air Mouse

  1. Ignacio says:

    Also… A quick warning… Watch out when plugging a cheap Powered USB Hub into your device,
    YOU HAVE TO POWER-ON ALL DEVICES AT THE SAME TIME because the power from the USB
    hub will power-on the TV Stick as well, this can cause one or all of your power supplies to explode!
    This is common with all ‘Powered’ USB devices, they output +5v as well as being powered by +5v.

    Jay G.

    hi, maybe that can solve the problem( desolder 5v wire from male usb connector on hub pcb):





    pics are from my try to power on externally my cheap hub.
    works great on my xperia U(no drains the battery using this hub), i´m waiting for my ug007 bought last week.

    • Nivas says:

      Hi,

      my ug007 is not booting up.. could you please let me know how do I check what went wrong.

    • Jay G. says:

      Yes, that is the closest-to ideal solution for this kind of problem (self-self-powering USB devices).

      I use a 5 volts @ 5 amps switch-mode power supply now and power everything from that (UG007, USB switched hubs, external HDDs, etc, etc…), because it not only saves mains sockets, it saves equipment going bang because of different power sources powering each other! 🙂

      Nice job by the way! 😉

      A quick word of caution though,
      If you don’t (or do) want to try this mod on your device(s), some chipsets and/or the way they are connected can be a bit funny when communicating to others on a different power source, sometimes connecting the grounds (-) together can help, sometimes the ground from the other power source can solve (or even worsen) some issues.

      Have fun UG007 users!

  2. Farzad says:

    I want to know if it’s possible to install this one on our UG007 : https://iamafanof.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/cm10-1-android-4-2-1-jellybean-sdcard-img-for-nook-tablet-0110/

    OR if you have a link of rom cm10.1 jb 4.2.1. Compatible with UG007 ?

    Thanks

  3. Jay G. says:

    My antenna wire is connected to both of the contact pads inside, ground to the outer and signal to the centre. Most WiFi antennas work as a closed circuit in a way, so you should be able to read about 50-75 ohms across both contacts of the antenna wires using a test meter. Very seldom do these kind of antennas use one connection they are usually used in FM radios etc…
    I hope this helped somebody, just thought I would explain for my earlier posts! 🙂
    Have Fun Modding!!! 😀

  4. Farzad says:

    Good pesentation.

    Can you please check if on your UG007, the Wifi antenna connector pad is connected to the ground ?

    Because in my UG007, I’ve desoldered the wifi antenna wire from the antenna pad to remove the short circuit from the ground. Even after removing the wire, there’s still a short circuit between the WIFI antenna and the groud connection.

    • iamafanof says:

      The wifi antenna does connect to the ground. The outer wire connect to the ground. You only need to solder the inner wire. Both inner and outer wires are soldered to the antenna.
      What you are you trying to do? Removing the antenna did not fix my problem.

      • Farzad says:

        Thanks for your explanation, I’ve imroved the wifi signal.
        But I still have issues when I use Bluetooth and Wifi at the same time. I’have installed the latest Imito MX1 1080p ROM.

  5. Jay G. says:

    All of these ‘TV Stick’ devices have rather poor RF (radio frequency) design internally,
    the only definite way to fix this is to carefully solder a WiFi antenna socket to the end
    of the wire coming from the PCB, just chop off the old antenna (which is actually one
    of the two antennas from inside a laptop screen!) as its shite anyway (:-D), and solder the
    socket on in it’s place. I have done this modification on quite a few of my china devices!
    And as you have the opportunity, you could also try shielding the PCB from RF by covering
    it with some sort of plastic-backed foil or tape, then connect the negative (-) of the power
    supply to the foil side.

    This will no doubt help with the HDMI artifact problems too, plus, other posters have wrote
    about freezes and resets due to the WiFi signal interfering with the rest of the goings-on inside
    these tiny computers, this is an issue with most chinese-built tablets, netbooks, phones & other
    equipment too! <They cut too many corners to make these things cheap which affects performance.

    I run my UG007 with stock firmware (what it came with) and have had no major problems yet, my
    router is very close to my TV so I don't get a very bad signal, but I have noticed that using WiFi and
    Bluetooth at the same time is nearly completely unusable! <It just cant stay connected to one or the
    other while transferring data.

    Also… A quick warning… Watch out when plugging a cheap Powered USB Hub into your device,
    YOU HAVE TO POWER-ON ALL DEVICES AT THE SAME TIME because the power from the USB
    hub will power-on the TV Stick as well, this can cause one or all of your power supplies to explode!
    This is common with all 'Powered' USB devices, they output +5v as well as being powered by +5v.

    Jay G.

    • Daniel says:

      JAY G, do you have any pics or something about soldering-wifi-fix tutorial or something? i’ve heard that theres a wifi antenna fix solution by soldering but is for mk808m not ug007, but the PCB is different and the antenna as well.

      • Jay G. says:

        Daniel…
        Google is your best friend! 😀

        Try searching on google images for something like ‘soldering SMA pigtail’ and
        that will show you a few examples of what you need. Basically, the inner pin or
        wire of the antenna is the actual signal connection and the outer (braided) wire
        is the ground connection. If you are connecting the two cables together, its just
        signal to signal, and ground to ground. And don’t forget to use some shrink-tubing
        or some tape to keep you join safe from short circuits! 🙂

        When soldering these kind of things it is always good practice to keep your soldering
        iron’s nib clean, and be quick while soldering things with plastic parts. Most of my
        soldering work is quite poor since I have worse eyesight these days, but it is quite a
        straightforward process, and hopefully within your abilities. Good Luck!!! 😉

        Jay G.

  6. Jay G. says:

    This stick is amazing, I got mine from geekbuying and it got here in under two weeks!
    I agree with what you are saying about WiFi & Bluetooth signal strength, it is poor!

    I think I have found the problem with HDMI artifacts, and I believe it is a bad PCB design,
    I came to this conclusion while testing out my new TV Stick because whenever I would
    use the WiFi and/or the Bluetooth signals it would cause the artifacts! It also seems to
    happen when the CPU is under allot of different loads, like torrenting while gaming at the
    same time.

    As yet, I have not had a need or a want to flash a different firmware onto my UG007 but I
    can tell that this maybe a future goal for me as certain things aren’t quite right at the moment.
    I have two USB soundcards, a USB ethernet dongle, a USB2PS2 (for keyboard & mouse), as
    well as a USB Huawei mobile internet dongle and a USB2PSX gamepad adaptor all working!

    Your little project looks great and I wish you all the best luck with it, BUT I have not yet had the
    need to cool it down with heatsinks or even open the housing at all (although I have, just to
    take a look at the hardware & chipsets!). According to other forums there is a lot of ongoing
    work on these sticks to get Linux running on them too!

    Thanks for your review/instruction post, I enjoyed it very much,
    Keep up the good work my friend!

    Jay G.

    • iamafanof says:

      Thanks for the reply. I might test your theory. I’ve read something on a different device, also from China, about soldering with the antennae. The high heat causes the casing to melt causing shortening. Don’t know how I can fix this little device since I can’t return the darn thing.

  7. iamafanof says:

    This is a funny device. It shared the same hardware as iMito MX1 which goes for around the same price as UG007. UG007 is getting zero support from the manufacture and they won’t even give out the source when asked. iMito MX1 on the other hand is updating their device regularly with developers support. So if you have a UG007, you can flash the firmware from iMito MX1, which I have. Flashing the firmware can be a pain due to the drivers. Drivers are picky to install on Windows.

    I still have artifacts; my assumption is the bad HDMI cable they send me. I have to buy a new one and test. Beside the artifacts, I like device.

    • Nivas says:

      Hi iamafanof,

      Could you please let me know how to flash the firmware of UG007 with iMiti MX1 as I need to have full flash player support.

      • iamafanof says:

        Head over to freaktab.com, Finless compiled an excellent MX1 1.5 rom that both on MX1, MX2, and UG007. His rom packages includes driver for rk30. You also need ADB driver and ADB. It’s somewhere on freaktab.

        Plug in your device into your computer (OTG usb cable). Enabled ADB debugging and install ADB driver. Open command windows to ADB directory, and type “adb shell” and then “reboot bootloader”. Then install driver for rk30 over the unknown device in device manager. Run Finless’s flash tool and it’ll automatically flash the rom.
        This is a cliff note version.

Leave a Reply

