Updated files for CM9/CM10 Bootable SDCard on Nook Tablet (10/27)

I have some suggestions to help you get this going. I have both the 8gb and 16gb NTs working just fine.

You say you are copying the “boot.img” to the CM9 rom zip. If you are talking about “cm9.img” that file goes into the sdcard partition.

Experiences:

First partition, make it 1001 mb. (Or 2001, 3001, etc.) I have expanded this to 16001 on a 32gb, and found by trial and error that this seems to be the largest that it will accept.

What I have found is that not all microSD cards are same. Some cards can be used to boot the Nook tablet and some cannot. I also have a Raspberry Pi, and the same is true there. (If it works in the Pi, it works in the Nook). So, if the card doesn’t work, try another. I don’t know what makes the difference, but I have a SanDisk 8 GB, and that doesn’t boot.

When redoing the card between tries, delete all partitions and create a Fat32 partition and then erase it before creating your partitions to use.

Instead of “system1” name the partition “system”. This helps with the Gapps file later on.

Hope this helps.

Randy Jakus

  • Copy boot.img/altboot.img, recovery.img, and flashing_boot.img along with u-boot.bin and MLO on to your sdcard.
  • Replace the updater-script inside the rom, *.zip, by drag and drop using winrar/winzip.
  • Flash the rom using recovery.
  • More details are in my other posts.
  • Do this at your own risk!
  • HD

About iamafanof
Somewhere in reality. I like free gadget. I need new nibs.

22 Responses to Updated files for CM9/CM10 Bootable SDCard on Nook Tablet (10/27)

  1. Fatos says:

    Can someone make a sd like it is for CM7 Alpha tha i can burn it with win 32 in the sd card .
    Please. I have been trying to make for hours but i did not manage .

  2. digixmax says:

    Hi,

    Will you be releasing a updater-script for gapps-jb-20121011?

    Tx.

    • iamafanof says:

      I haven’t been following GAPPS or CM news. I’ll get it updated once I get the file downloaded. You can edit the updater-script with Notepad++ if you don’t want to wait.

  3. digixmax says:

    Can your CM10 SD build procedure be used with the “[ROM] SGT7+CM10+Cherry Picks” which is posted and discussed in the XDA thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1877217?

    • digixmax says:

      I tried the CM10 SD build procedure on the “[ROM] SGT7+CM10+Cherry Picks”, it appeared to work fine. The only thing is I couldn’t install the Enhancement package as I assume that would need an adapted updater-script.

      • iamafanof says:

        I have only test cm10 build from Chris. I have no interest in creating supplementary files for other cm10 build. You have to ask whoever created the rom to do it. It’s not hard really.

    • the dude says:

      I can confirm the same updater-script used in the cm10 build works for this rom as well.

  4. Randy Jakus says:

    I have some suggestions to help you get this going. I have both the 8gb and 16gb NTs working just fine.

    You say you are copying the “boot.img” to the CM9 rom zip. If you are talking about “cm9.img” that file goes into the sdcard partition.

    Experiences:

    First partition, make it 1001 mb. (Or 2001, 3001, etc.) I have expanded this to 16001 on a 32gb, and found by trial and error that this seems to be the largest that it will accept.

    What I have found is that not all microSD cards are same. Some cards can be used to boot the Nook tablet and some cannot. I also have a Raspberry Pi, and the same is true there. (If it works in the Pi, it works in the Nook). So, if the card doesn’t work, try another. I don’t know what makes the difference, but I have a SanDisk 8 GB, and that doesn’t boot.

    When redoing the card between tries, delete all partitions and create a Fat32 partition and then erase it before creating your partitions to use.

    Instead of “system1” name the partition “system”. This helps with the Gapps file later on.

    Hope this helps.

  5. I still CAN NOT get this to work. I am downloading: update-cm9-acclaim-alpha0.06.1_sd_hd_8_19.zip and update-cm9-acclaim-alpha0.06.1-fullofbugs. I am formatting my card with 1gb fat32 “sdcard”, 400mb ext4 “system1” and 1 gb ext4 “data1”. Then I copy u-boot.bin, recovery.img, flashing_boot.img, and MLO onto the SD card. Than, from the same zip, I open the P2 folder and copy the boot.img to the CM9 rom zip, and copy the updater script to the cm9 zips updater script location meta-data/android/google./blahblahbh. I then eject the card from my computer. Put it into my nook tablet. Power it on…and it NEVER works. It ALWAYS just boots up normal. I’ve done this 50 times now and I can not get it to boot into ANYTHING but the stock nook software. WHAT AM I MISSING>?!@

    • digixmax says:

      Did you power up your NT by plugging in the powered USB cable?

      Some NTs, such as mine, only boot from SD when powered up in this manner.

  6. I wish I could figure out how to put all your posts and file collections together to actually make this work. I have been at this for 3 days now and I still can’t get it going. And I’m pretty good with android.

  7. The Dude says:

    Is the mic working on the latest 0.05.1 build? I was unable to find this info on XDA…

  8. Joe says:

    Thanks for uploading the files for the new CM 10 build.
    How do you modify the boot.img file to point to build on sdcard? I could not find any tool on xda that would open a .img file for edit. Thanks again.

  9. The Dude says:

    Thanks a lot for taking the time to do the supplementary files!

  10. Joe says:

    You rock!!! Thanks for posting the updates. I created the cm10 version on sdcard and works great!

Leave a Reply

